Search our entire site for the information you need.

Stay informed! Enter your email address to receive our monthly eNewsletter.


The Greenway Council helps the East Coast Greenway Alliance build partnerships with agencies, organizations, and people responsible for building trails. The Council is directly responsible for designating trails, formulating trail policy, and ensuring that the East Coast Greenway Alliance stays on track with annual trail development goals in each state.

Greenway Council members include people who have chaired state committees and members of our Board of Trustees. The group meets several times annually by conference call and webinar. Created in 2005 as part of the Close the Gaps Campaign, the group met for the first time on November 5, 2007 in New Haven, CT.

Greenway Council Members

Bret Baronak, North Carolina
Community Coordinator, Carolina Thread Trail

Tony Barrett, Maine
Board member, East Coast Greenway Alliance and Maine Appalachian Trail Club

Scott Bogle, New Hampshire
Senior transportation planner, Rockingham Planning Commission

Sue Ellen Bordwell, Maine
Retired, former ECGA board officer, Bicycle Coalition of Maine past president

Eric Brenner, Washington, DC

Champe Burnley, Virginia
President, Virginia Bicycling Federation and former president of the Richmond Area Bicycling Association. Board member, Richmond 2015, Partnership for Smarter Growth, Groundwork RVA.

David Connelly, North Carolina

Jean Crowther, South Carolina
Greenway Council co-chair, Associate at Alta Planning + Design

Heather Dunigan, Delaware
Principal planer, Wilmington Area Regional Planning Council

Lisa Fernandez, Connecticut
Associate Director, Yale Project on Climate Change Communication
Member, State of Connecticut Greenways Council, executive board member of Farmington Canal Rail-to-Trail Association

Robert Gaston, Maryland

Jo Claire Hickson, Georgia
Landscape architect; co-founder and chair of Coastal Georgia Greenway, Inc.

Matthew Johnson, New Jersey

Jack Keene, Maryland

Terry Landreth, Georgia
President and owner, Camden Bicycle Center, Inc., St. Marys, Georgia.

Shawn Megill Legendre, Pennsylvania

Chris Linn, Pennsylvania

Anne Maleady, Massachusetts
Greenway Council co-chair

Megan Massey, New Jersey
Principal planner, open space coordinator, Hudson County Division of Planning

Matthew Moldenhauer, South Carolina

Matt Moritz, Rhode Island

Bethel Paris, North Carolina

Janine Peccini, Massachusetts

Stuart Proper, Connecticut

Dave Read, Massachusetts

Anthony Savarese, New York

Karl Soderholm, Florida

Iona Thomas, North Carolina


Greenway Council Documents

Trail Policy Documents

Trail Designation Documents